Edward Scott Morrison Scholarship

Deadline: May 15, 2023

Link to Apply: https://ucla.academicworks.com/opportunities/34402

Note: in order to be considered for this scholarship, all applicants must also complete a general application in addition to the ESM scholarship application.

UCLA is pleased to announce the Edward Scott Morrison Scholarship for entering and returning UCLA undergraduate students. Awards typically range from $1,000 to $5,000.

The Edward Scott Morrison Endowed Scholarship Fund was established in 2009 to provide undergraduate scholarships for entering and returning full-time undergraduate students who self-identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex, and asexual (LGBTQIA). Preference to those who are committed to LGBTQIA leadership and have shown a commitment to community service.

As a condition of accepting the Edward Scott Morrison Scholarship, students commit to performing 20 hours in outreach activities. The outreach service should be completed with local LGBTQIA organizations and must be cleared with the Director of the UCLA LGBTQ Campus Resource Center, Andy Cofino (acofino@lgbtq.ucla.edu), before beginning.


  • Enrolled as a full-time undergraduate at UCLA.
  • Identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex, or asexual.
  • Preference to those who are committed to LGBTQIA leadership.
  • Preference to those willing to have their name published in LGBTQ Campus Resource Center publications, but not required.
  • All Edward Scott Morrison Scholarship recipients are expected (although not required) to accept their award at the UCLA LGBTQ Campus Resource Center’s Lavender Reception ceremony on Saturday, June 11, 2022 on campus at UCLA, if possible.
  • Undocumented students encouraged to apply.

Past Awardees

2019 Recipients

Alejandro Caldera
Viktor Chanchykov
Koby Hansen
Kai Huang
Mario Martinez
Shaaron Sagastume
Olivia Shearin
Elliot Bear Yu

2018 Recipients

Aunica Cesena
Koby Hansen
Kai Huang
Grace Lee
John Lende
Mario Martinez
Sela Pierce
Paola Rubio Rodriguez
Emmanuel Romero

2017 Recipients

Brayan Astorga
Koby Hansen
Shannon Kasinger
Lik Jay Lam
John Lende
Mario Martinez
Paola Rubio Rodriguez
Emmanuel Romero
Kyla Worrell

2016 Recipients

Austin Barraza
Koby Hansen
Aaron Kinsfather
Claudia Johns
Riy Mutakabbir
Emmanuel Romero

2015 Recipients

Jonathan Arias
Kevin Contreras
Liam Farrell
Claudia Johns
Emory Johnson
Aaron Kinsfather
Eli Lawliet
Harvey Peralta
Michael Pfirrmann
James Taylor
Odalis Trasvina
Isaac Williams

2014 Recipients

Zaira Castro
Jamie Dix
Kelsie Jones
Eli Lawliet
Rocky Rojas
Felicitas Ruiz
Aubrey Sassoon

2013 Recipients

Miranda Corn

2012 Recipients

Jan Victor Andasan
Christopher Anderson
Mark Rayos

2011 Recipients

Jan Victor Andasan
Isaiah Nicolas Baiseri
Bryan Scott Banisaba
Tyler Austin Cherry
Derek S. Hernandez
Gabriel M. Hongsdvsit
Chi-Hsuan Lu
Ruth A. Mendez
Jason Gene Odie
Matthew A. Pimentel
Cyrus Shannon Sinai

2010 Recipients

Annabel Flores

2009 Recipients

Luis Aguilar
Shirelle Alexander
Jan Victor Fernandez
Stepheyne Apodoca
Bryan Scott Banisaba
Joey Hernandez
Luis Hernandez
Fabiola Leon
Michael Mann
Ruth Mendez
Jessica Perez
Mikael Aigamaua Saela
Jack Sale
Anthony Moses Sanchez
James Santana
Stephen Searles
Jason Tengco
Bruce Tran